Friday, April 16, 2010

Pre-Summer, Pre-Baby Reading: Prophecy of the Sisters

I officially started maternity leave on Wednesday with the intention of forcing Grayson into this world via induction on Thursday. Well... it's Friday... and Grayson is intent on hanging in for a while longer. So, to keep myself from going insane, I stopped by the bookstore and picked up a few titles that seemed interesting.

With nothing but time on my hands, I started and finished Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink. It is a young adult novel about two sisters who find themselves on opposite sides of the ancient fight between good and evil. This supernatural fiction would be a good fit for fans of Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty trilogy.

Book's Pros: The story is fascinating and reads like an adult novel with the exception of the 16 year old main characters, twin sisters Lia and Alice. The author finds a new way to twist an old story. The setting, late 1800's, adds a good eerie twist. Would be an especially good read on a rainy, winter day. Adult's who liked the movie Stigmata, would likely enjoy this book.

Book's Cons: The fact that the story revolves around a battle between good and evil will make some conservative readers uncomfortable. Warning: If a non-Christian perspective on the supernatural makes you squeamish, steer clear. (Think Harry Potter for a slightly older audience if you haven't read Bray's books as a reference.)

I, for one, thoroughly enjoyed Prophecy of the Sisters and can't wait for book 2 of the trilogy, Guardian of the Gate, to be released on August 1, 2010.

0 comments: